top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl Long

Off the Deep End

Terry and I had been attending Landmark Baptist Church, which met in the local high school choir room, for several weeks. We both felt convicted that we needed to be baptized and as Resurrection Sunday approached, we chose that significant day to follow our Lord in Baptism.

There were three of us getting baptized that day: Terry and I, as well as another man. It was a beautiful service.


Pastor had asked us ahead of time to prepare what we wanted to share with the small congregation of believers. I wasn't comfortable making speeches, but the Lord had put a poem on my heart the night before the service and so after Terry spoke, I read my poem:


Testimony of Salvation

Standing alone in the darkness, 

in a world where sorrow rules,

I was reflecting upon my journey, 

traveled by sinners & wayward fools.

As I floundered there in that torment, 

with the enemy close at hand,

"Just run away," he conned me, 

"They all will understand."

But through the midst of pain and despair 

came words from long ago;

"If you'll only walk with Jesus,

you will never walk alone."

"Your empty soul yearns to be filled," 

my heart fought to be heard,

There is only one Path to freedom, 

for the Truth is in His Word.

To forsake this life of bondage, 

His guidance I must seek,

but my cross was so heavy 

and these burdens had left me weak.

I knelt there in the darkness 

and confessed to Him my sins;

"I pray for Your forgiveness, Lord, 

for You know where I've been."

He lifted me up there and held me, 

His loving grace shining through,

"Where were You?" I asked,

and Jesus said, "I was here waiting for you!"

I stayed there in His loving presence, 

as He touched my heart I cried,

for my transgressions were many 

and for these sins He had died.

With His blood He cleansed me, 

as my spirit He restored,

then I confessed the words aloud; 

"You are my Savior, Jesus; my Lord."

I thanked Him for His blessings, 

the joys as well as the strife,

then slowly stepped out of the darkness 

to walk in newness of life.

Cheryl Long April 1997


Never had I wept in front of anyone before this whole ordeal had begun in December. Crying in front of my husband was a brand new thing for me. But there I stood, reading my testimony before a group of believers, with tears freely flowing down my cheeks.


As I finished reading the poem, I was surprised to realize that nearly everyone in the room was weeping with me.


Pastor regained his composure and then asked us each to affirm that Jesus was indeed our Lord and Savior before we headed to the high school swimming pool.


It was a common point of humor among members of our small Baptist congregation that our church had the LARGEST baptistery in the county. No one thought of the fact that this was the week our school district was on Spring break. No one considered how that little detail might affect our plans. It didn't occur to any of us that the school might choose to clean the shallow pool during spring break. But as we stepped into the pool room, there we stood before a large, gaping hole, void of water.


This didn't sway Pastor in the least. "Well now," I can remember him saying in his slow Arkansas drawl. "I guess we'll just have to mosey on over to the diving pool."


So Terry and I were baptized on Resurrection Sunday 1997, in the Franklin High School diving pool, in nine foot of water! No need to inquire if we believe in immersion!

Later, when I thought about the implication, I realized that the way this played out for us was so appropriate. And humorous.


Our lives had been radically transformed by the Gospel, as the truth of God's Word drenched our souls and the love of Jesus began to permeate our hearts. Some declared we had lost our minds. A few claimed we had joined a cult.


But as for those who insisted we had "gone off the deep end"... They were absolutely right! 




55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page