top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl Long

Cake Topper Mystery Revealed!

Updated: Aug 19, 2019

Once upon a time my oldest daughter Amanda decided she had found “THE ONE” and so when Ryan proposed marriage, she readily accepted. Hence, wedding plans quickly ensued between mother and daughter!


The groom-to–be had a bit of a strange request. He told his beautiful bride-to-be that he would agree to do whatever she wanted; he would wear whatever clothing she chose for him and have the wedding wherever she desired. However, he did have one request: He wanted to buy the cake topper. By himself. Strange request indeed!

The big day finally arrived and though the weatherman had grimly predicted rain, the sun shone brightly down on the sweet young couple and their wedding guests, as they pledged their vows to one another next to my herb garden.


The three-tiered cake was beautifully decorated by a friend and had been delivered just that morning, sans a topper. It was placed in a prominent spot on the front lawn. 

After months of curiously wondering what had prompted this young man to want to purchase the cake topper, and why he continued to be so secretive, when at last I finally saw the cake topper, I literally cried. From laughter!

The unusual cake topper demanded an explanation to those who marveled. And wondered...

The story I shared went something like this:

The first time our family met Ryan, he had come at Christmas with my nephew Brad. I thought he was a bit strange, and though I’d heard he was interested in Amanda, she didn’t seem to reciprocate the feelings. As the children gathered in the dining room to busy themselves with coloring, Ryan joined in the fun, choosing a Precious Moments coloring book. Five year old MacKenzie was absolutely HORRIFIED when Ryan defiled her coloring book by coloring the hair of the Precious Moments little boy green. GREEN! Later she asked me, “What is wrong with that guy?” I told her that maybe he hadn’t learned to color properly in school.
Several years later I was on the phone with Amanda and during our conversation she spoke to someone in the background then she exclaimed, “Oh Mom; I forgot to tell you; I’m dating Ryan!” Without thinking, I popped off, “Ryan? I hope it’s not the freaky guy who came to Christmas; the one who colored the Precious Moments’ boy’s hair green!” Amanda laughed and repeated my words to the mystery person in the room before saying, “Well Mom...he really has changed!”
Oh my word! "But you just told him what I had said!"

In light of this story, the cake topper made perfect sense to every person attending the wedding.


Now how could a mother not totally love a guy like that?!

What Ryan nor the rest of us realized that day was that a fun tradition had begun in our family! From that wedding forward, the groom is assigned to choose the cake topper, which the bride will discover only at the wedding reception!


How fun is that?!


Wesley's Cake Topper was from his parent's wedding cake, with the flowers revamped. So romantic!


Reagan's Cake Topper required an explanation to assure guests that Haley isn't a bad cook. He explained that since he and Haley were photo-bombed by a fire extinguisher at the marriage proposal, it should be part of their big day.


MacKenzie, who was five-years-old when Ryan "defiled" her Precious Moments coloring book, will walk down the aisle this Saturday to become Mrs. Titus Woodward. We all eagerly anticipate the debut of the Groom's Cake Topper.


The tradition continues.

168 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page